Niagara Catholic’s 2019-2020 Student Senators

Niagara Catholic Student Senators have elected Luca DiPietro to join Saint Paul Catholic High School student Jade Bilodeau as the Board’s Student Trustees and Co-Chairs of Secondary Student Senate for 2019-2020.

Luca is a student at Blessed Trinity Catholic Secondary School, and will serve for the 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 school years.  He was elected during the 19th Annual Niagara Catholic Student Leadership Symposium at Club Roma earlier today. He will be introduced to the Board at the June 11th Committee of the Whole Meeting.

Luca replaces graduating Blessed Trinity Catholic Secondary School student Madison McKinney, whose term as Secondary Student Senate Co-Chair and Student Trustee concludes at the end of June. We know Luca and Jade will continue to build upon the many great initiatives implemented by Secondary Student Senators, and will be a strong voice for students.

We extend our collective appreciation to Madison and Jade for their commitment to Catholic education in Niagara and across Ontario throughout this school year, and wish Madison well on her new journey as a university student in the fall. We also thank Stella Bittman (St. Kevin Catholic Elementary School) and Stefan Candeloro (Cardinal Newman Catholic Elementary), our current Elementary Student Senate Co-Chairs, for their outstanding leadership and active participation throughout this school year.

The annual Student Leadership Symposium aligns with our System Priority of enhancing student engagement and student voice, and implements the annual requirements within the Elementary Student Senate and Secondary Student Senate Board Policies.

The energy-filled day brought together more than 350 Student Council members and Student Senators, from this current year and students recently elected by students or selected by principals to represent their school for 2019-2020. It was an enthusiastic and rewarding day for all students in attendance, as we continue to engage and enhance student voice and leadership throughout Niagara Catholic.

The symposium was coordinated under the leadership of this year’s Secondary Student Senate, our Student Senate Administrative Liaisons Anthony Cardamone, Ken Griepsma and Steve Ward, and the Board’s Arts and Student Leadership Consultant Teri Cristelli.

The agenda included a review of Student Senate initiatives during this current school year, an inspirational presentation by keynote speaker Andrew Laubacher on Catholic leadership, a video presentation from all eight Catholic secondary schools, and student elections for the Elementary and Secondary Student Senates. The day culminated with the election of the 2019-2020 Student Trustee/Secondary Student Senate Co-Chair and the Co-Chairs of the Elementary Senate.

Elementary Student Senate Co-Chairs and Elementary Senate Representatives on the Secondary Student Senate for 2019-2020

The 2019-2020 Elementary Student Senate elected Logan Mandley (St. Denis Catholic Elementary School) and Eva St. Laurent (Canadian Martyrs Catholic Elementary School) as Elementary Student Senate Co-Chairs and Elementary Senate Representatives on the Secondary Student Senate for 2019-2020.

Secondary Student Senate Co-Chairs and Student Trustees for 2019-2020

The 2019-2020 Secondary Student Senate elected Luca DiPietro (Blessed Trinity Catholic Secondary School) to a two-year term, who will join Jade Bilodeau as Secondary Student Senate Co-Chairs and Student Trustees for 2019-2020. The Secondary Student Senate selected Camille Peddle (Notre Dame College School) as the student representative on NCPIC, and Adeline Willett (Lakeshore Catholic High School) as the student representative on SEAC for 2019-2020.

Congratulations to Logan and Eva for their election as Co-Chairs of our Elementary Student Senate, and to Luca on being elected as Student Trustee and Co-Chair of the Secondary Student Senate with Jade for 2019-2020, and to Camille and Adeline for being selected to represent students at NCPIC and SEAC meetings.

We look forward to the continued leadership and engagement of our Elementary Family of Schools Student Councils, Elementary Student Senate, and the Secondary Student Senate for 2019-2020.


Good News, Media Stream