Niagara Catholic 2018 Student Leadership Symposium

Niagara Catholic’s 18th Annual Student Leadership Symposium took place at Club Roma on May 10.

The day began with a very dynamic presentation by Canadian Olympian Sarah Wells for the 300 students in attendance, who inspired students to believe as strongly in themselves as they do in others.

Students then participated in breakout sessions where  they spoke about how they could enhance student voice and student experience in their Catholic elementary and secondary schools, before moving on to the Elementary and Secondary Student Senate Elections.

Following lunch, the names of the 2018-2019 Elementary Student Trustees were announced. Stella Bittman (St. Kevin Catholic Elementary School) and Stefan Candeloro (Cardinal Newman Catholic Elementary School) are the 2018-2019 Elementary Student Senate Co-Chairs, and Jade Bilodeau (Saint Paul Catholic High School) and Madison McKinney (Blessed Trinity Catholic Secondary School) will serve as Student Senate Co-Chairs and Student Trustees. Jade will serve for 2018-2019 and 2019-2020, while Madison will serve a single term, concluding in June 2019.

Special thanks to our incredibly energetic and passionate outgoing Student Trustees Nico Tripodi and Hannah Tummillo. They have been outstanding voices for students at the trustee table, and we wish them all the best as they embark on their new journeys in post-secondary education. Thanks, too, to our outgoing Elementary Student Senate Co-Chairs Isabella D’Addio from Our Lady of Mount Carmel Catholic Elementary School, and Olive-Iya Stary from St. Vincent de Paul Catholic Elementary School, for their exemplary leadership, passion and active participation throughout this school year.

Good News